The year of Artificial Intelligence is here

It is time for a change because the world is about to change.

Even fortune magazine has seen the writing on the wall, 2017 will be the year of AI.

Last year, AI saw jumps that the best minds thought would take 10 years, go down in mid year.

The New York Times has implanted reporters into the Google camp in the same way that they send reporters to Washington, D.C. because they know there is news about to be made.

Luckily, it lines up with my schedule. I will be taking Artificial Intelligence in the Spring Semester at the University of Arizona. But I realize that my current skills needed to be beefed up. The way that one programs for Deep Learning versus normal Business Application program is different and takes different skills.

So I have beefed up my linear algebra, multi-variable calculus,  and python skills over the break to get ready for my goals for the year. My goals are meant to make me a deep learning guru by the end of the year. To do this I have promised myself to do the following:

  • Replicate 1 paper a week
  • “Grad read” a paper every week
    • Read the intro/abstract, scan all sections and diagrams, read the first sentence in each paragraph (or more if needed)
    • Write a summary of this paper
    • Write down all important terms and define
    • Write down all the equations
    • Try to do within 15 minutes
  • Full read a paper a week
  • Writing goals
    • 15 minutes every work day
    • 30 minutes on non-work days
    • Not required on vacation
  • Coding goals
    • Write in Python or R for 12 minutes every work day
    • 15 minutes on non-work days
    • Not required but encouraged on vacation
  • Read
    • Keep to date on AI aggregators
    • Read as many AI books that I can afford
  • Learn
    • Take one Coursera week every 2 weeks (AI related-Andrew NG, Gregory Hinton)
  • Restraint
    • No new TV series for self for the next week
    • Only watch shows I watch by self on weekends

Leave a comment